Mönch

The Mönch is the middle summit of the world-famous trilogy comprised of the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau. Since this 4107m peak can be easily reached from the Jungfraujoch, this summit is possible as a day trip. You also have the possibility of spending the night at the Mönchsjoch hut the day before to position yourself for an early morning ascent. In addition to impressive views, this tour offers versatile, gentle climbing and passage along a narrow, exposed ridge. In good conditions, this summit tour is possible year-round, and the conditions determine if the ascent is made on foot, with skis, or with snowshoes.

Quick Facts

  • The middle summit of the world famous "Trilogy"
  • 1 Day
  • Experience Level: Advanced Beginner
  • Fitness Level: Moderate

from 495 CHF

from 495 CHF

Tour Details

Private Day Tour

1 person CHF 765
2 people CHF 495 per person

 

Private Tour with overnight stay

1 person CHF 1195
2 people CHF 695 per person

 

To book a tour with overnight stay please contact us:

0041 (0)33 224 07 01

info@outdoor.ch

Day Elevation + Elevation - Kilometers Walking time
1 650m 650m 5km approx. 5 hours

 

Ascent via the southeast ridge to the Mönch 4107m

Meet your guide at Grindelwald Terminal and make your way to the Jungfraujoch. You will begin your hike in the direction of the Mönchsjoch hut and quickly your ascent route along the southeast ridge will come into view. The lower section of the climb will lead you to the rain gauge, and from there you will easily climb to the first snow ridge. From here you will be rewarded with spectacular views to the north. You will continue your ascent to the pre-summit, where the east face of the Mönch dominates the view. You’ll carefully continue over the last narrow snow ridge and climb to the snow-covered summit. The view offered by the Mönch summit is expansive, and you’ll overlook the entire Swiss midland. You’ll descend along the same route and return to the Jungfraujoch. Journey home in the late afternoon.

It is possible to book the summit tour on the Mönch with an overnight stay at the Mönchsjoch hut beforehand. This offers the advantage of an early morning start, which is recommended in warm summer temperatures.

Season January - December
Departures for private tours Private tours can be booked daily
Meeting point Monday - Saturday: 7:10am at Grindelwald Terminal
Sunday: 8:20am at Grindelwald Terminal

 

  • Guiding from a licenced mountain guide/ aspirant guide
  • His or her expenses
  • 1 night in bunk room with half-board and tea for the next day (if booked with overnight stay)

  • Your expenses
  • Snacks
  • Rental equipment

Backpack

  • 20-25l

Clothing

  • Warm, functional clothing
  • Windbreaker or GoreTex™ jacket
  • Light windbreaker or GoreTex™ pants
  • Mountaineering or hiking pants
  • Sunhat
  • Gloves (ideally one thin and one thick pair)
  • Beanie or headband
  • Thermal underwear 

Footwear

  • Crampon proof mountaineering boots

The basics

  • Sunglasses (category 3 or 4)
  • Sunscreen lotion and lip balm (minimum factor 30, 50 better)
  • Thermos flask, drink bottle
  • GA or Half Fare Travelcard (if you have)
  • Camera and binoculars (optional)

Technical Equipment

  • Harness
  • Crampons with anti-snow plates
  • Ice axe
  • Helmet

 

General Information for Mountaineering School

Our team is here for you. If you have any questions, please contact us or visit us in our shop in Grindelwald. We are happy to help!

OUTDOOR - Mountaineering School Grindelwald

Dorfstrasse 103
3818 Grindelwald
Switzerland

0041 (0)33 224 07 01

info@clutteroutdoor.ch

Trip status for group courses

1-2 days before your tour or course we will review the weather forecast and conditions with the mountain guide to determine if we can operate. We will contact you by phone with an update.

Minimum of participants (group tours)

As soon as the minimum number of participants is reached, we will send you a confirmation by email.

Cancellation

If we have to cancel your tour, you have the option to reschedule to a new date, or you will receive a full refund.

Equipment

Please refer to the equipment list for your tour or course. At our shop in Grindelwald, you can purchase technical equipment, mountain clothing, shoes, and backpacks. We also have technical equipment available for rent.

Clothing

Choose functional clothing that is moisture-wicking and quick-drying. Dress in layers so you can easily react to temperature changes. The range at our shop in Grindelwald is tailored to mountain tours and our expert staff are happy to advise you on the best clothing for your tour or course.

Lunch

Lunch is not included in the offer. We recommend bringing bars, dried fruits, nuts, or a sandwich. The amount you will need to drink depends on your individual needs and the length of the tour. We recommend .75 -1.5 liters of water, warm tea, isotonic drinks, or whatever you prefer. We also recommend that you hydrate enough the day before, so your body is well prepared for the tour.

Huts

A mountain hut is not a hotel. Running water is not guaranteed and electricity is not available everywhere, so it is not always possible to charge batteries or phones. If you have special dietary needs, please inform us in advance so we can make arrangements with the hut.

Safety

Our tours and courses are led by IVBV certified mountain guides or mountain guide aspirants. We prioritise your safety by requiring regular training to ensure our guides have relevant, up to date knowledge. Outdoor is certified by the Swiss Council for Accident Prevention (BFU) and our safety and emergency concepts are audited by this organization annually.

General terms of contract

Our General Terms and Conditions apply. 

General Terms and Conditions

You don't own the equpiment needed? Rent it from us:

Winter rentals

Summer rentals

You might also like

Jungfrau

from 1295 CHF

Gross Fiescherhorn

from 750 CHF

Advanced Course Mountaineering

from 1295 CHF

Climbing Tour Rotstock West Ridge

from 790 CHF

EN | DE
⚠️ Änderung aufgrund der Verhältnisse 27.06.22
Aufgrund des schmalen Gipfelgrats wird der Mönch ab sofort bis mindestens Ende August wie folgt angeboten: Mit 2 Gästen pro Bergführer maximal bis zum Mönch Ostgipfel 4040m / Mit 1 Gast pro Bergführer bei guten Verhältnissen bis zum Mönch Hauptgipfel 4107m.

Mönch

Der Mönch steht in der Mitte des weltberühmten Dreigestirns Eiger-Mönch-Jungfrau. Der 4107m hohe Gipfel kann als Tagestour vom Jungfraujoch aus erreicht werden. Je nach Verhältnissen lohnt sich auch eine Übernachtung in der Mönchsjochhütte am Vortag, so dass du die Tour früh am Morgen in Angriff nehmen kannst. Nebst der grandiosen Aussicht bietet diese Tour vielseitige Gneiskletterei und zum Schluss einen schmalen Firngrat. Die Gipfeltour auf den Mönch ist bei guten Verhältnissen das ganze Jahr über möglich. Je nach Schneeverhältnissen erfolgt der Zustieg zu Fuss, mit Skis oder mit Schneeschuhen.

Das Wichtigste in Kürze

  • Mittelgipfel des weltberühmten Dreigestirns
  • 1 Tag
  • Erfahrungslevel: Wenig erfahren
  • Fitnesslevel: Moderat

ab CHF 495

ab CHF 495

Detailinformationen

Private Tagestour

1 Person CHF 850
2 Personen CHF 495 pro Person

 

Privattour mit Übernachtung

Du möchtest deinen Bergführer schon am Vorabend auf der Mönchsjochhütte treffen, um am nächsten Tag möglichst früh starten zu können? Bitte vermerke bei deiner Buchung, dass du die Tour mit Übernachtung zu diesem Preis buchen möchtest:

1 Person CHF 1295
2 Personen CHF 750 pro Person

Tag Höhenmeter + Höhenmeter - Kilometer Marschzeit
1 650m 650m 5km ca. 5 Stunden

 

Aufstieg über den Südostgrat zum Mönch 4107m

Nach dem Treffpunkt im Grindelwald Terminal fahren wir aufs Jungfraujoch, wandern anschliessend Richtung Mönchsjochhütte und sehen bereits unsere Aufstiegsroute, den Südarm vom Mönch-Ostgrat. Über das unterste Stück steigen wir zum „Regenmesser“ hoch, dann weiter in leichter Kletterei zum ersten Firngrat. Hier geniessen wir zum ersten Mal die herrliche Aussicht gegen Norden. In prächtiger Gneiskletterei und wieder über steilen Firn, erreichen wir den Vorgipfel des Mönchs. Mächtig erscheint hier die stolze Mönch-Ostwand. Über den schmalen Firngrat müssen wir uns noch einmal konzentrieren, bevor wir den Schneegipfel vom Mönch erreichen. Die Aussicht ist unbeschreiblich, zumal wir uns am nördlichen Rand der Alpen befinden und über das ganze Mittelland der Schweiz blicken. Der Abstieg erfolgt über dieselbe Route zurück zum Jungfraujoch. Heimreise am späteren Nachmittag.

Du hast die Möglichkeit die Gipfeltour auf den Mönch mit einer vorgängigen Übernachtung in der Mönchsjochhütte zu buchen. Dieses bietet den Vorteil, dass du die Tour am morgen früh starten kannst. Insbesondere bei warmen Sommertemperaturen ist dies empfehlenswert.

Saison Januar - Dezember
Private Touren Private Touren kannst du an einem beliebigen Datum buchen
Treffpunkt 08.15 Uhr an der Kaffeebar auf dem Jungfraujoch

  • Führung durch Bergführer/Bergführer-Aspirant 
  • Reisespesen des Bergführers 
  • 1 Übernachtung im Mehrbettzimmer inkl. HP, Marschtee (falls mit Übernachtung gebucht)

  • Deine Reisekosten 
  • Zwischenverpflegung
  • Mietmaterial

Rucksack

  • 20-25l

Bekleidung

  • Warme, atmungsaktive Kleidung
  • Windjacke oder GTX-Jacke
  • Leichte Überhosen oder GTX-Hose
  • Wintertaugliche Berghosen/Skitourenhose
  • Sonnenhut
  • Handschuhe (1 Paar dünne, 1 Paar warme)
  • Mütze oder Stirnband
  • Thermounterwäsche

Schuhe

  • Bedingt steigeisenfeste Bergschuhe

Diverses

  • Sonnenbrille (Kategorie 3 oder 4)
  • Sonnencrème und Lippenschutz (mind. LSF 30, besser 50)
  • Thermosflasche, Trinkflasche
  • GA / Halbtaxabo (wenn vorhanden)
  • Fotoausrüstung und Fernglas (optional)

Technisches Material

  • Klettergurt
  • Steigeisen mit Antistollplatte
  • Pickel
  • Helm

 

Allgemeine Informationen Bergsportschule

Wir sind für dich da! Bei Fragen darfst du uns gerne kontaktieren oder in unserem Shop in Grindelwald vorbeikommen.

OUTDOOR - Bergsportschule Grindelwald

Dorfstrasse 103
3818 Grindelwald
Switzerland

0041 (0)33 224 07 01

info@clutteroutdoor.ch

Durchführung

1-2 Tage vor der Tour oder dem Kurs analysieren wir gemeinsam mit dem Bergführer die Wetterprognosen sowie die Verhältnisse und entscheiden über die Durchführung. Anschliessend kontaktieren wir dich telefonisch und geben dir die letzten Details.

Mindestteilnehmerzahl (Gruppentouren)

Ist die Mindestteilnehmerzahl erreicht, bestätigen wir dir die Durchführung per E-Mail.

Absage

Müssen wir die Tour absagen, hast du die Möglichkeit deine Buchung auf ein Alternativdatum zu verschieben oder du erhältst den bezahlten Betrag zurück.

Ausrüstung

Bitte beachte die Ausrüstungsliste zu deiner Tour. In unserem Shop in Grindelwald findest du technisches Material, Bergbekleidung, Schuhe und Rucksäcke zum Kaufen. Technisches Material kannst du ausserdem bei uns mieten.

Bekleidung

Wähle funktionelle Bekleidung, die Feuchtigkeit gut transportiert. Wende das Mehrschichtenprinzip an, so kannst du bei Temperaturschwankungen optimal reagieren. Das Sortiment in unserem Shop in Grindelwald ist auf Bergtouren abgestimmt. Gerne beraten wir dich zur optimalen Bekleidung.

Verpflegung

Der Lunch ist jeweils nicht im Angebot inbegriffen. Wir empfehlen ein paar Riegel, Trockenfrüchte, Nüsse oder ein Sandwich mitzunehmen. Die Getränkemenge ist sehr individuell, je nach Länge der Tour empfehlen wir 0.75 – 1.5 Liter warmen Tee, isotonische Getränke oder was du sonst gerne magst. Es empfiehlt sich am Vortag genügend zu trinken, damit der Körper gut auf die Tour vorbereitet ist.

Hütten

Eine Berghütte ist kein Hotel. Je nach Jahreszeit gibt es kein fliessendes Wasser. Auch Strom ist nicht überall vorhanden, sodass teilweise keine Akkus aufgeladen werden können. Bist du Vegetarier oder hast du Unverträglichkeiten, was das Essen anbelangt? Bitte melde uns dies vorgängig, sodass wir die Hütte informieren können.

Sicherheitskonzept

Unsere Touren und Kurse werden durch diplomierte Bergführer IVBV oder Bergführer Aspiranten geleitet. Um auf dem neusten Wissensstand zu bleiben, ist die regelmässige Weiterbildung obligatorisch. So bieten wir dir die grösstmögliche Sicherheit. Outdoor ist seit mehreren Jahren mit dem „Safety in Adventures“ Label zertifiziert. Unsere Sicherheits- und Notfallkonzepte werden jährlich durch diese Organisation geprüft.

General terms of contract

Es gelten unsere Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen.

Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen

Falls du technisches Material von uns mieten möchtest, findest du hier unsere Preise:

Mietpreise

Das könnte dir auch gefallen

Jungfrau

ab 750 CHF

Gross Fiescherhorn

ab 750 CHF

Aufbaukurs Bergsteigen

ab 1295 CHF

Klettertour Rotstock Westgrat

ab 395 CHF